If you have your success story, do email me at alhanfee@ipsacademy.org for publishing here
STORIES OF GRASS ROOT INVENTORS ARE INVITED. Please email at hanfeesirji@ipsacademy.org

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Dr. M S Sodha / Prof. Mahendra Singh Sodha

Professor Mahendra Singh Sodha pursued his higher education at Allahabad University obtaining D.Phil. in 1955. He worked briefly at Defence Science Laboratory in Delhi. During 1956-1964, he worked in Canada and USA in different capacities. He joined as Professor in the Physics Department at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi in 1964. He has made outstanding contributions in the area of Energy, Fusion Plasma, Solid State Physics, Optics, Combustion and Ballistics. He has published more than 500 research papers in national and international journals of repute. He has to his credit 13 books and 12 reviews. He has also supervised more than sixty-five doctoral students at IIT Delhi and other Universities.

Professor Sodha served IIT Delhi in many capacities including Head, Department of Physics (1966-68 and 1986- 88); Head, Center for Energy Studies (1978-82); Dean
(Science, Students, PG Studies) during 1970-76 and Deputy Director (1982-85). He has also been the Vice chancellor of Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, Indore(1988-92), Lucknow University (1992-95), Director at IPS Academy Indore (1996-1997),Vice chancellor Barkatullah University, Bhopal(1998-2000). 

He has played an active role for the promotion of higher technical education in India. He has been instrumental in setting up the Center for Energy Studies
at IIT Delhi and the Faculty of Engineering Science at DAVV, Indore.

Professor Sodha was awarded the prestigious S.S. Bhatnagar Award in 1974, Hari Om Ashram Prerit Shri S.S. Bhatnagar Award in 1978 and Padmashree in 2003 for his outstanding contributions in Science and Engineering. He is fellow of several professional bodies including Indian National Science Academy and National Academy of Science, India.

He is currently a Ramanna Fellow and visiting Professor at the Department of Education & Physics, Lucknow University.

No comments:

Post a Comment